TeX MeX Restaurant in the Dominican Republic???

TexMex

Sep 26, 2010
Saludos to all DR1 members,

I would like to do a little brain picking if you don?t mind, and this would be for the members who live and visit the Dominican Republic.

At the present time I am considering opening up a TeX MeX Restaurant and Cantina somewhere in the DR.

My question is what city or town would be most appropriate for this type of venture.

Now please keep in mind that I am not targeting the Dominican Market, I would like to be in a place where there are lots of gringos and tourist from Europe. Also my vision is not upscale but moderate. I have over 30 yrs experience in the TeX MeX Fine Cuisine & Catering Service Business.

I would like an area that has 24/7 power, moderate rent and elect rates, somewhat safe (if there is such a thing?).

Thanks, TeX

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
There are at least three Mexican restaurants (not sure if they could be defined as Tex Mex but I think so) in the Punta Cana/B?varo tourist area - which is relatively safe, has 24/7 electricity but electricity and rent costs here are quite high.

The other 24/7 electricity areas are Saman? and Bayahibe, also tourist areas. I don't know of any Mexican/Tex-Mex restaurants there, but posters more familiar with these areas may be able to tell you whether that market gap does exist.

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
Businesses that specifically target non-Dominicans have a very high failure rate.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
True, in fact most of the customers in a very successful Mexican restaurant here in Punta Cana are Dominican. You do see some tourists/foreign residents there, but their main client base is the middle class/upper middle class Dominican resident. Most of the foreign tourists in the area are stuck in their AIs but there is a growing number of foreign residents too.