If you're a tourist and you still think you can drive in The DR...

shawn27

May 24, 2010
Reactions: mike l

skinny36

Mar 2, 2010
So what happens when a "tourist" gets in an accident with a hired driver? Is there insurance (probably not I'm thinking)? I know in Cuba if a national is hurt then you both go to jail til it's figured out....

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
Yup that's why I always hire a driver. I thought NYC was bad..

I don't trust any other drivers here, fine for dotting around the city in traffic but on longer trips where I get the foot down there is only one person I trust with my and my families life.

amparocorp

Bronze
Aug 11, 2002
i've been a driver for money for most of my adult life. worked my way thru college driving a taxi in Boston, drove tractor trailers for a good while, drove stretch limos in and out of NYC, i know the road. i live in SD, my mother in law lives between POP and Santiago so i'm forced to make this trip often. on every trip there is always at least one close call that almost gives me a heart attack, be it with a donkey, truck, drunk, speeder, or some other idiot. every trip, whether or not i drive or someone else does, i no longer enjoy the ride.

sweetdbt

Bronze
Sep 17, 2004
I find it amusing that some people harp so much about how dangerous driving in the DR is, and make it clear that the main reason is crazy Dominican drivers; then their "solution" is to hire a Dominican to drive for them.

I understand that there are some highly professional and experienced drivers in the DR who do a great job. If you have any reservations whatsoever about your own ability to drive safely, you should definately look into hiring one who has a good reputation. Personally, whether it is here in the US or in the DR, I trust myself behind the wheel more than I would anyone I could hire.