Recipes! Care to Share?

Gerritt_From_Canada

Nov 2, 2010
I have been visiting these forums for about a year now... and have been fascinated by some of the posts and threads, Some funny, some sad and some right down the middle...

I finally signed up today... as I really wanted to find some good recipes that I could employ here at home.. I honestly miss rice and beans... Good ones especially!

I have been visiting the DR for quiet a few years (3-4 times a year) and I have a love of their simple yet flavourful food, it seems that even the basics can be delicious if prepared correctly.

So I am calling you experts to help guide me to culinary satisfaction while I am not in the DR... God I miss that heat blast when I step off the plane...

If anyone would be so kind to share some of their day to day recipes/methods that I could serve here at my home, in Ontario, Canada. Between our trips to the DR, I would be forever greatful.

Thanks in advance!

G.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Quick!!! Go get Dominican Cookbook by Clara Gonzalez and Ilana Benady!!! I think it is available on Amazon...
It is the best, most up to day book of its kind around. You can't miss..

HB

Gerritt_From_Canada

Nov 2, 2010
Hello!

And thanks, I am looking at the dominicancooking.com website as we speak :) the recipes look great, and I have tried a few in the past...But something was lacking... Perhaps because I was the one cooking it?.. Someone else's cooking always seems to taste good and I am one hell of a cook..

That said, I am sure that native Dominican mothers and grandmothers add that little something to make a dish fantastic.. Know what I mean? (and dont tell me it is love lol) I have had rice and beans... and then I have had RICE AND BEANS! LOL.. I hope you can understand what I mean.

I would like to see a few personal recipes that you yourself make and think are fantastic! who else to ask about Dominican cooking then Dominicans!

Thank you for the great replies.

G

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002