Using Walkie Talkies in the DR

Celtic Queen

Jun 19, 2010
I know this may sound like a very silly question, but as I have been traveling to the Dominican Republic for many years now and do not know the answer (and quite obviously am not a technology junkie), I decided to ask here.

Do walkie talkies actually work in the DR? Again, I know, it might be a silly question. but interested in finding out...Thanks!

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
FM Frequency

Should work....they just use an FM frequency don't they ?

We used to use them to keep track of children when skiing... always losing somebody - too fast or too slow

WW

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
They work as well as they do anywhere else in the world.
What I mean by that is don't believe the range quoted on the package you purchase.
That is the absolute best case situation. But, yes they do work.

I agree. We have used them at the condo where I live.

Celtic Queen, it is not a silly question. Don't let a couple of posters apparently trying to restrict newbies from asking all your questions. The openess and welcoming of newbies is not going to be changed.

pedrochemical

Silver
Aug 22, 2008
Yes.
There are restrictions on frequencies and power ratings - but of course they work.

The laws of physics are only slightly different in the D.R.

Reactions: waytogo
Aug 21, 2007
Walkie talkies work here. I use them. I have one. My gardener, who lives on my property, has one. And the night security guard is given one each evening. They are one extra layer of security for me.

One caveat. Nothing seems to last long in this country. I am on my second set of walkie talkies in 5 years. The second time around, I bought the most inexpensive available from Radio Shack..... a name brand. Then, when they cease working, I am not out an arm and a leg.

Lindsey

Celtic Queen

Jun 19, 2010