new to the country

anton william

Nov 26, 2010
Hallo everybody, I'm very new to the country. Wander what's up in terms of business opportunities. Is anybody have any suggestion what would be the best direction to explore in DR? No real estate, please. Thank you.
Anton

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
something indoors and air conditioned- I keep asking for a bowling alley on the north coast , indoor bowling green,badminton,tennis etc maybe- I mean it does rain a lot and theres nothing indoors

puryear270

Bronze
Aug 26, 2009
I think we need more colmados. There still isn't one on EVERY corner yet. Sometimes I have to walk two blocks to buy a soft drink.

If you want to open a restaurant, anything with seasoning on the food would be great.

On a serious note:

I do wonder how a copier rental business would do here. Most small businesses in the US rent their photocopiers and pay per page printed. I have yet to hear of such a business here.

I have not heard much about home alarm systems. If they are available, I have not seen them advertised. And I would think there would be a big market, although the electricity situation would be a hurdle.

And a third suggestion: home health care, including those alert buttons that people wear around their neck and can push in an emergency. In this country, it would be a very, very small market here to mostly the wealthy or to those who have children in the United States, but it could be quite lucrative.

I do have one more sarcastic suggestion:

A motorcycle/scooter headlight repair business. I mean, why else would anyone drive a motor on the highway the wrong way on a one-way street at night without a light unless there was no place in the entire country not to get a headlight replaced?

simpson Homer

Bronze
Nov 14, 2003
There is always money to buy Medication, There is money to buy beer and there is money to pay transportation.

The answers,

Drug store
Bar
Taxi - carro concho - guagua.

DMV123

Bronze
Mar 31, 2010