Nursing care

Britcouple

Aug 13, 2009
Hi everyone. Hope you are all ready for the forthcoming holidays and festivities.

On a more serious note I would like to ask everyone a couple of questions. Several people I have spoken to, ex-pats of course, have all told me similar tales with regards to nursing care in the hospitals on the north coast, or should I say lack of nursing care. I appreciate that Dominicans do things differently here and am not being derogative of my fellow professionals. However, being ex-pats we are used to different things from our nurses during a stay in hospital.

Being a qualified UK nurse, I was wondering if anyone would be willing to pay extra on top of the usual insurance excess, to have a private nurse who will actually do more than just give you an injection then disappear for the rest of their shift. I refer to looking after people post surgery, ensuring a safe recovery from the anaesthetic and the first day or so after, whilst in hospital and even a home visit to check on wounds/dressings.

I am also asking, what would be a reasonable price for said services, or should I say how much anyone would be willing to pay. I was thinking of around RD$1000 per day for inpatient care.

IF, there is any interest in this then I will take things further by talking to the directors of the local hospitals to guage their reaction and discuss professional insurance etc. I just wanted to test the waters before taking matters further. Obviously if there is no interest, then it will stop here.

thanks for your time everyone.

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006