Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: FTA satellite TV website

  1. #1
    Silver
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,540
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default FTA satellite TV website

    I was enjoying my Nano2 until quite recently. It broke. But as you know how the postal system works here, you are better off ordering a new one rather than paying return postage to get it fixed under warranty.

    Instead of going for another nano, I've ordered an Ilink. So I spent yesterday connecting it all up and trying a to find a file to make it work.

    I've just found out that my favourite website for satellite systems has just been busted! Dummychat is no more! All of the other website I've searched want a fee to download bins.

    I know FTA is popular here as a great way to get English speaking telly for free. Does anyone know of a free support website?

  2. #2
    Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Surprised you are allowed to openly talk about theft here... FTA w/ bins etc is theft.

  3. #3
    Silver
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,540
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I'm not stealing anything. If they want to broadcast radio waves onto my property, what I do with them when they arrive here is my business!

  4. #4
    Moderator - Clown Central
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,756
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerritt_From_Canada View Post
    Surprised you are allowed to openly talk about theft here... FTA w/ bins etc is theft.
    I use my FTA receiver to get the many True FTA channels (I watch mainly English Channels). But I do enjoy the channels in a foreign languge for the music videos and belly dancing shows. lol

    Watching live feeds of the networks is also very interesting at times.

    The web sites are very good for providing reports of FTA reception.

  5. #5
    Silver
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,540
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thanks windeguy, I'm now watching TV again!

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,002
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    If you want to go private server way, NFPS guys can get you a receiver as well (older Nova w/ PS bin, or Ilink, etc.)
    Private IKS Servers - ABA DSS - Free to Air Satellite TV Community

    NFPS is operated by people from SD. (www.ik$privat3$3rv3r.c0m)

    PM me for the phone number (809-333-33-XX)...no missing XX is not 33 but close
    Or also lookup their reseller, DigitalTV in SD, do a google search
    Last edited by rubio_higuey; 12-28-2010 at 07:03 PM.

  7. #7
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,002
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerritt_From_Canada View Post
    Surprised you are allowed to openly talk about theft here... FTA w/ bins etc is theft.
    Here even the largest national cable companies use FTA or subbed cards to get SOME of the channels they provide to their subscribers.

    Also, go to Santo Domingo, e.g. los Cacicazgos (the most $$$ 'hood in SD) in Mirador Sur, and just start counting the satellite dishes there on roofs of all those high-rises, mansions, and other buildings...I think there are more dishes in plain view than your yearly salary expressed in DSominican pesos... and 99% of those people don't sub.

    In the DR. people are not worried about Charlie, or Dick, or View...

  8. #8
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,002
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by beeza View Post
    Thanks windeguy, I'm now watching TV again!

    Cheers
    Which I-link do you have?

  9. #9
    Silver
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,540
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rubio_higuey View Post
    Which I-link do you have?
    Just got the 9000plus off ebay for $139. So far so good. A little freezing now and then but I'm using the public server, service isn't much different from the nano2.

    I might see if I can get the nano fixed. It has a switching problem. It won't switch between LNBs. Probably a bad capacitor. I'll open it up and have a look one day.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •