short term move..advice??

riaris

Jan 8, 2011
Hey I was wondering if I could get some advice from you guys? I am thinking of moving to DR for a couple of months. Basically im a PhD student in my last year living in London and I really want to get away from the city for a bit while im working on and writing up my thesis and thinking of the DR for this. I can speak Spanish and have been confused with a local when I have travelled to central America in the past.

I was wondering how safe it is for a 25 year old woman to travel there on her own without knowing anyone? I am the type of person that likes to stay away from tourist areas when I go to another country and like to mix more with locals. Also can anyone give me advice on what are the best universities on the island for sciences? I cant drive, what is the public transport like?

I understand that living standards are much lower than where I am living now and life will be completely different but I love the latin and Caribbean cultures and difference is what I want right now. Any tips would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

MikeFisher

The Fisherman/Weather Mod
Feb 28, 2006
Punta Cana/DR
www.mikefisher.fun
he he he
Hey Milosh,
Bad Boy.
25 years ole Female from London,
doesn't know how to drive,
speaks perfect Spanish.
yep,
there will be no safety issues,
You will blend in Locally perfectly.

Lower Living Standards than London??
only if You come from very High London Standards.

what ya really looking for?
what means a living standard for You?

Mike

yb1

Oct 6, 2008
There are many places in the DR that would suit your needs, for starters take a look at
Jarabacoa
Constanza
Bayahibe (nice safe coastal village, not too touristy either) I live there, PM me if you'd like more info.

sorry Milosh, Cocotal residential area in Punta Cana would suck without a car.

2dlight

Bronze
Jun 3, 2004
English is not my native language but I think advices would be incorrect unless you meant it TIC-tongue-in-cheek.:cheeky: