verifying your permanent residency without going through your lawyer?

Spartacus

Jul 13, 2010
I do not speak Spanish and I do not live in the D.R. but I have a lawyer who processed my D.R. permanent residency for me and claims it is finished. Rather than trust him I would like to know a way I can verify if my permanent residency has indeed been processed or not. How do I do that if I do not speak Spanish? Would immigration respond to someone who speaks Spanish who inquirers on my behalf?

Once I can verify it then I could travel to the D.R. to receive the perm. residency card through the help of my lawyer. But I do not want to travel to the D.R. just on his word for reasons I do not want to get into here.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Wait for a reply from Fabio Guzman, the lawyer who answers questions in this section.

But as a layman, I think you should have your lawyer scan the documents and send them to you as an attachment.

Spartacus

Jul 13, 2010
Could Mr. Guzman call immigration for me and verify that my permanent residency card has been processed? If I ask my lawyer over the phone I have no way of knowing if I can trust him. If he says yes, it was processed I want to verify that what he is telling me is true, so I can then go down to the D.R. and pick it up.

IS IT POSSIBLE FOR THE LAWYER TO SEND THE PERMANENT RESIDENCY CARD OUT OF THE D.R. AND TO THE U.K.?

Or is that illegal to do?

Thank you

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Could Mr. Guzman call immigration for me and verify that my permanent residency card has been processed? If I ask my lawyer over the phone I have no way of knowing if I can trust him. If he says yes, it was processed I want to verify that what he is telling me is true, so I can then go down to the D.R. and pick it up.

IS IT POSSIBLE FOR THE LAWYER TO SEND THE PERMANENT RESIDENCY CARD OUT OF THE D.R. AND TO THE U.K.?

Or is that illegal to do?

Thank you