Moving to DR need some feedback

lisagauss

Bronze
Feb 16, 2011
Ok, sorry about my first post being so long, but taking such a huge step in someones life is never a short story.

I am planning on moving to Santiago by the end of this year (December 2011). I?ve been planning for a little over 3 years and believe to have everything worked out, at least in theory. I have an Engineering degree (Electrical) and also a Master?s degree (Electrical). I am 35 and married with a 2-1/2 year old daughter. Reasons for moving are plenty but basically love the DR weather/life. I was born in DR and came to NY when I was 7. Lived most of my life here but did live in DR from ages 15-22 so I know what it is like to live there. Basically the purpose of the this post is to get your input on my planning. I?ll break it down this way.

1. Where will you live?

Recently my wife and I purchased a ?solar? in Santiago, as far as I know it is a decent area (not a barrio nor is it Los Cerros). I plan on building a house there, I already have my budget, $3.4MDR.

Questions: ->> Is this budget reasonable? Any thoughts/tips on contractors?

2. Where will you work/get your money from?

My brother is currently teaching in Santiago and I am hoping to get a job at the same University he teaches in. I also have some income coming in from some 2 cellphone store investments here in NY, plus I have invested in ?mortgage loans? in DR. I also do internet marketing (I own several websites). I estimate that a 3 family household would need anywhere from $40,000 - $60,000 pesos per month.

Questions ->> How much money would someone need to live reasonably for a family of 3?

3. What about household stuff?

My plan is to ship all my belongings. I received a quote from a shipper, they quoted me at $4,500US with $65 for every box.