Where to live? Young couple with not kids seeking beach residence

carlosdasilva3

Mar 2, 2011
Hi,

I am new to the Forum and my name is Carlos. I am originally Portugal and I am an academic researcher. Given the flexibility I have with my work, the only tool I need is my computer and Internet.

Given my monthly income from my research activities, me and my girlfriend are planning on moving to the DR for a period of 4 to 6 months. Our plan is to learn Spanish (we both speak Portuguese so we already understand well Spanish) 3 mornings per week and take some afternoons to spend time together on the beach. We will also try to integrate among locals and join classes such as Salsa Dance.

Given that we are not looking for heavy party places, neither expensive restaurants (we cook home mostly) and we want to learn Spanish, what location would you recommend us to look for an apartment? The only condition is having beautiful beaches at walking distance, internet connection and possibly a market close by to buy food.

We are quite a humble couple and therefore we would like to take this opportunity to let go of the constant stress of the city we live in, spend time together. Most of my research projects will be done by the time so I will have a lot of free time to enjoy life.

We are seeking an apartment with 1 or max. 2 bedrooms at a walking distance from the beach, with internet and a swimming pool (can be shared pool). We also seek a place that is safe for us to live comfortably out of worries.

Let me know what you would recommend and in your opinion what budget in average would I need for such lifestyle in that specific locations.

Looking forward to hear your opinion.

Carlos

yanandu

Banned
Jan 23, 2011
Las Terrenas could be on your list.
10,000 - 15,000 would be budget per month for 3-6 months rental of studio or 1 bedroom depending on location.
Thereafter simple food to cook 10 dollars a day for 2 people.
Restaurant meals start at 100 pesos.