Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Google voice/Skype and smartphones?

    This is really a follow-up to previous post I had made.

    Let's say my friend in Santiago purchases an online US number from skype or google voice, would it be possible for her to install skype (or google voice) in her internet-ready Blackberry Torch so that when I call that US number she can pick it up on her phone instead of having to talk via the laptop?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    If they are near a wireless access point then yes. other then that she'll have to either get another sim card with a data plan or get international roaming. bottom line she needs to have some access to data.

  3. #3
    Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Her smartphone has a data plan.

    Basically, I was thinking that her phone would be her laptop. So instead of talking to me through the laptop (where skype is running), she would somehow install skype or google voice on her smartphone so that the smartphone would be the device she would use to talk.

  4. #4
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,107
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You do not "receive" calls on Google Voice. You need a physical US phone number (VOIP or real) to receive calls. It's not like you run google voice app and someone calls you on your GV number and it rings in your app... nope... GV FORWARDS your call to another number in the USA (landline, fax, mobile, etc.)

    SKYPE does not work on Blackberry, unless you are a Verizon customer. All skype PHONE calls on Verizon Wireless are charged as regular calls. Only skype-to-skype calls are free on Blackberry on Verizon Wirelss. NO SKYPE app for Blackberry on other carriers. Skype IM Client for Blackberry ! - Skype Community

    There is IM+ Talk (cost $30) IM+ Talk :: BlackBerry :: Products and will give you Skype emulator for both chatting and receiving/placing skype calls.

    Another important thing - no carrier in DR runs Blackberry services on 3G network. All of them (Claro, Orange, Viva) run Blackberry services on GPRS/EDGE network, rendering ANY AND ALL VOIP calls useless. You could do VOIP in WIFI environment.

    I was just looking into exactly the same thing yesterday and today, so i saved you hours of research with this info.

    You can now thank me!

  5. #5
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    11,776
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rubio_higuey View Post
    You do not "receive" calls on Google Voice. You need a physical US phone number (VOIP or real) to receive calls. It's not like you run google voice app and someone calls you on your GV number and it rings in your app... nope... GV FORWARDS your call to another number in the USA (landline, fax, mobile, etc.)

    SKYPE does not work on Blackberry, unless you are a Verizon customer. All skype PHONE calls on Verizon Wireless are charged as regular calls. Only skype-to-skype calls are free on Blackberry on Verizon Wirelss. NO SKYPE app for Blackberry on other carriers. Skype IM Client for Blackberry ! - Skype Community

    There is IM+ Talk (cost $30) IM+ Talk :: BlackBerry :: Products and will give you Skype emulator for both chatting and receiving/placing skype calls.

    Another important thing - no carrier in DR runs Blackberry services on 3G network. All of them (Claro, Orange, Viva) run Blackberry services on GPRS/EDGE network, rendering ANY AND ALL VOIP calls useless. You could do VOIP in WIFI environment.

    I was just looking into exactly the same thing yesterday and today, so i saved you hours of research with this info.

    You can now thank me!
    Listen to rubio and then also do your research on internet about this topic.
    Rubio has just put you in the right direction. its not easy to setup voip in a dominican house, especially if they don't know what they are doing. they will screw up this fragile system with some stupid act and then say "esa vaina no funciona".
    here is another deal, totally free except for the cost of a linksys-pap2 adapter. I can help you set it up with a sip program and link it with an american number to receive calls. the linksys box will be connected to the router of the internet in the house and this way you will be able to call her at will. The computer does not have to be turned on. Just hope she is not uploading or downloading on the internet at the time of the call.
    AZB

  6. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,297
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Or get a Nokia N95/96 and you can install any SIP/VoIP or Skype app. you like and use the WiFi to connect and chat to your heart content. No stupid restrictions like iPhone or Blackberry.

    (I believe Andriod phones should also allow you to install and run any app you like, for some reason though people love restrictions !!?)

  7. #7
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    i have a nokia e71 that also comes with skype.

  8. #8
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    11,776
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    get an HTC HD2 and install the latest android on it. now you have a phone which is way more advanced than an average smartphone: internet browser, huge screen. GPS navigation, FM radio, camera 5 meg pix, video camera and all the skype and voip sip programs you want to install.
    AZB

  9. #9
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,297
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Yes to HTC, and with latest Android you also get Flash support on the internet browser.

    (By the way Flash Lite was supported on Nokia a few years ago, these guys are catching up !?)

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I have a Blackberry and I have tried to download Skype, but it wouldn't allow it, I have internet and I use it for my email, facebook, GPS just about everything but I cannot get skype or any video. Its not a Torch its juts a Curve but I was wondering if anyone knew how I would be able to do this?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •