does it slow down when it gets nearer the hole ?

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
dont worry only a pool question- I located a hole but the speed of the water leaving the pool seems to have slowed as it gets nearer to the hole, Im not a scientist so could anyone confirm that the pressure of water would make water run out faster when the water level is high and slower when there is less water in pool

Reactions: SantiagoDR
A pool develops a leak 2 meters below the surface of the water. The pool is 3 meters above the ground level and the hole leaking water is 0.5cm in diameter. How far from the pool will the water hit the ground?

use P1 + (1/2)(ρ)(v1^2) + ρgy = P3 + (1/2)(ρ)(v2^2) + ρgy

I then removed (1/2)(ρ)(v1^2) since the water inside the tank has no velocity. ρgy on the right side was also removed since y = 0.

I assumed the tank was open topped and therefore P1 = P2.

We're left with:
ρgy = (1/2)(ρ)(v2^2)

so I canceled the ρ, leaving:

(9.8 m/s^2)(20 m) = (1/2)(v2^2)

so v = sqrt(98) at an angle of 0 degrees, right?

-------

yf = yi + (vyi)(t) + (1/2)(ay)(t^2)
0 = 20 + (0)(t) + (1/2)(-9.8)(t^2)
-20 = (1/2)(-9.8)(t^2)
-40/-9.8 = t^2
t = sqrt(40/9.8) ~ 2.02 seconds for the water to hit the ground

if there is no y component to the initial velocity, then it must be all x. therefore sqrt(98) m/s * 2.02 s = 2 meters away from the pool

Conchman

Silver
Jul 3, 2002
www.oceanworld.net
I have a hole in my pool, but I pay a fixed monthly fee for water. Therefore, instead of tearing up my pool to find the hole, I just add water every day. Does anybody know of a company that maybe specializes on finding holes in pools? My leak must be in the pipes between the skimmers and the pump house, which are buried several feet underground and are about 30 feet in length, so this will not be an easy project.

Reactions: mike l
E

engineerfg

The selfish capitalist in me wonders, if it's not costing you anything, why are you worried?