Looking for advice on tipping...

valleycat

Nov 26, 2010
Hi. My wife and I will be arriving in Punta Cana in a few weeks. My question is about tipping. What are the opinions on the amounts that are good to give. We will be staying at an all inclusive, but I would like to make friends with the bartenders especially. :) What would be a good amount? If I gave some at the start of the week and some at the end, or what about a smaller amount each day? We're kind of new to all this holidaying. Any help would be appreciated. Also, do other staff get tipped? Thanks all.

Zap28

Feb 24, 2011
I'm no expert, but we (my family & I) just were in Punta Cana in January. We tipped the housekeeping staff daily ~ we tipped our servers in the restaurants (even the buffet) every now & then... sometimes we had exceptional service, they were right on top of things with us which was really nice. Barely finish our drink/plate & there they were whisking it away, lol. Sometimes we all put a buck or two each & they got a big tip. Cheapy cheapy tips there compared to where we're from. ;)

We tipped the bartenders, but again, not everytime. Just so they knew we appreciated them & there were of course 'favourites'. ;)

I'm excited for you, lol... I LOVED my vacation & can't wait to return. Can I ask where you're staying??

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
I am not American and know you/those guys do stuff different, being feel the need to deal cash when they already paid the bills on an A/I.
But on the offchance you are European, ask what day the maid changes and give her a little something on the change day. you will have a change of maids and nice to do them. They do make around 23pesos an hour in the rui hotels and the tips are huge so don't go wild.
Bars, just tip when you feel they have earned it, and not a fortune, these guys are happy as sh1t, they make a fortune from tips.

Don't listen to TA, that advice is responsible for the crap service non tippers get!

tavejen

Mar 4, 2011