Ex military looking for work in DR.

Gemcee

Dec 30, 2009
I will be moving to the AltaGracia region with my wife in September. I am releasing from the Canadian Army as a Combat Engineer Sgt. Does anyone know of any work for such a skill set. I've been coming here for 17 years and am now ready to make a move. I have zero expectations to find work, but if something were to come up i.e. managing a security company that provides services to the resorts in the area. Anyway, if anyone has any advice or contacts that would be great.

Feel free to PM.

Cheers

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
I will be moving to the AltaGracia region with my wife in September. I am releasing from the Canadian Army as a Combat Engineer Sgt. Does anyone know of any work for such a skill set. I've been coming here for 17 years and am now ready to make a move. I have zero expectations to find work, but if something were to come up i.e. managing a security company that provides services to the resorts in the area. Anyway, if anyone has any advice or contacts that would be great.

Feel free to PM.

Cheers

There are a number of Canadian mining companies in the DR that may have uses of your unique talents. For those that don't know: Combat Engineers have the following primary duties:
• Construct and maintain roads, airfields, heliports, bridges, causeways, rafts, permanent and temporary buildings;
• Construct field defences and obstacles;
• Provide drinking water by testing, purifying and filtering local supplies and by constructing local distribution systems;
• Detect and dispose of mines, booby traps and bulk explosives;
• Deny mobility to the enemy on the battlefield by demolishing roads and bridges, and laying minefields and booby traps;
• Maintain and operate engineering equipment, including weapons, vehicles, heavy equipment and supplies;
• Provide engineer communications on the battlefield; and