The Haitian Economy Thread

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Given the 'new' Haiti is supposedly in the making, I think it's quite prudent to keep track of the economic affairs of our neighbor to the west.

OK, what really motivated me to create this?

Well, for the first time ever, the Haitian economy is not only expected to grow faster than the Dominican economy; it's also going to be among the fastest growing in Latin America, thus the Western Hemisphere, thus again, the world.

Of course the reconstruction efforts is behind this tremendous upsurge, which makes this growth spurt a sort of 'catching up' to its previous level.

But there is a very good opportunity that will arise in this. Haiti right now is receiving a very strong economic push, if the momentum is maintained it can generate a sort of enertia, becoming self-sustaining over the long term; with time leaving behind the 'catch up to pre-earthquake Haiti' to becoming a full 'catching up to the DR and the Developed world' phase.

I definitely got a pair of fingers cross and another pair towards Haiti mimicking the DR when it comes to expectations from the IMF; in other words, always surpass the expected economic growth rate.

In anycase, here are the figures from the IMF starting with 2009 with proyections for 2011 onwards.

CAR050311B-2.gif

Kipling333

Bronze
Jan 12, 2010
I imagine the growth is almost entirely contributable to the reconstruction effort and it will take many many years for the growth to be the result of any industry. I also imagine that at least 90% of the population will not be a beneficiary of any GDP growth for years and years and will live in complete poverty . I hope that the monetary aid from overseas can be used in establishing more industries in clothing and food and maunfacturing .. I also hope that the tourist industry , which is a large employer of labour can grow quickly and profitably

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com