ATM Card use

20now40

May 10, 2011
Hi-

Are there only specific atm networks available in the DR? I have a mastercard debit which has the Star network symbol on the back, and I want to make sure I can use my card once I get there. Thanks in advance for any information.

Reese

Oct 5, 2010
Hi-

Are there only specific atm networks available in the DR? I have a mastercard debit which has the Star network symbol on the back, and I want to make sure I can use my card once I get there. Thanks in advance for any information.

You should be able to use it at any of the atms, but keep in mind you make have to notify your bank that you will be out of the country using it. My sister banks with Bank of America and when she first tried to use it here she used it one time then they froze it saying that they thought it was being used for fraud and it the future she would need to contact them before she left and let them know where she was going to be using it so that it would not happen again, however it did the next time she came down. After the first transaction they froze it. Best advice check with your bank first. Because you are fine to use it here.

RV429

Bronze
Apr 3, 2011
That is good advice from Reese. My rule of thumb is to use ATM's from the major banks like Banco Popular and during the day when possible so that if you have a problem you can work it out on the spot. Also, most of the ATM's only let you take out 10,000 pesos at a time so plan accordingly.

Reese

Oct 5, 2010
Also you can go directly into the Banco Popular and withdraw as much as you would like without being charged a fee. Well as much as you would like within reason. And don't be alarmed if you check the balance and it says it is in pesos this happens alot and normally it is actual what you have in the account in dollars. My sister freaked out the first time that happened to her.

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006