Cocaine & The Dominican Economy

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I was recently looking at the new Drugs Report from the United Nations and have reached a very interesting conclusion on the amount of wealth that the Dominican economy receives from drug trafficking. First, a few facts:

In 2008 (the most recent year for which data is available) the international Cocaine market was estimated at US$88 billion (roughly the size of the Dominican economy on PPP). The market has been on a steady decline since the 1980s when it was worth over US$130 billion.

The US Cocaine market is valued at US$35 billion and is on a steady and steep decline. Of that figure, gross profits are distributed in the following ways:

85% (US$29.8 billion) stays in the US.
1.5% (US$500 million) goes to Coca farmers in the Andean countries (Colombia, Ecuador, Peru & Bolivia.)
1% (US$400 million) goes to narcotraffickers in the Andean countries.

The most important figure for the DR is the 13% (US$4.6 billion) that goes to narcotraffickers that ship the product from Colombia/Venezuela to the US.

My estimate of the amount of money the Dominican economy directly receives from this activity is deducted from the following facts:

The US consumes 165 metric tons of Cocaine. However, 71% of all the Cocaine that reaches North America is trafficked via Central America/Mexico while only 29% is trafficked via the Caribbean islands. In monetary terms this translates to US$3.3 billion is injected into the economies of Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica & Panama. The Caribbean islands collectively receive US$1.3 billion.

The Dominican Republic, assuming that the proportion relative to the Caribbean total of Cocaine confiscated (34%) is indicative of the Dominican participation in the Cocaine trade; then the DR receives as a minimum US$455 million (0.8% of Dominican GDP.) Maximum probably is closer to US$800 million (1.5% of GDP), but this last figure is only a guess.