Ooze coming out of a tiled floor?

beeza

Silver
Nov 2, 2006
I recently visited a friend who is renovating a 20 year old house in Sosua. He is a Canadian and a builder by trade, so he knows a thing or two about construction.

However he showed me something that neither of us could figure out what it was.

It was in an upstairs bedroom that used to be an exterior sun-deck about nine or ten years ago, until it had the roof extended over it and became part of the main house. The flat roof (which is now the bedroom floor) had been tiled with regular 12in square ceramic tiles. In the grout lines of the tiles, there are patches of clear liquid that is oozing out. This liquid has the consistency and colour of glycerine, although odourless. If left to dry it becomes a white powder that stains the floor.

The house is a standard Dominican style of construction, ie rebar reinforced concrete blocks with a solid cement roof. Does anyone have any ideas what this ooze can be and how to treat it?

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
Any idea what they used to set the tiles? (probably not) could it possibly be that there were 2 different properties mixed to create the cement, if these aren't compatible for mixing then have broken down, or got wet and then broken down separating and the result is possibly a latex solution separating from the cement. It is not normal to use a latex additive unless laying on a floor that needs a little movement or expansion though, so not sure if that could be the case.

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago