Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    20,896
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Calling All Techies

    Please suffer me and my friend.....

    Said friend is desperate for good Internet capabilities in RD and is exhausting most of the avenues.
    He is quite "cautious" with a buck and even moreso with a peso

    He has found the website shown below ...... does this make sense to anybody here?

    All gobblelygook to us.

    Mobile Carrier Settings for Claro Dominican Republic

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    477
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by william webster View Post
    Please suffer me and my friend.....

    Said friend is desperate for good Internet capabilities in RD and is exhausting most of the avenues.
    He is quite "cautious" with a buck and even moreso with a peso

    He has found the website shown below ...... does this make sense to anybody here?

    All gobblelygook to us.

    Mobile Carrier Settings for Claro Dominican Republic

    Thanks
    Finely my area of expertise! (I work for a cellphone company )

    If he enters internet.ideasclaro.com.do into the internet settings of his phone, he will then be able to access the internet via the phone (and presumably attach to PC and surf). He must use a Claro SIM card in the phone.

  3. #3
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    20,896
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Thanks Everything.... can we do this w/ the prepaid card? or better w/ full contract service?

    Or am i ignorant..... this is how you do it w/o full Claro service ?

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    477
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by william webster View Post
    Thanks Everything.... can we do this w/ the prepaid card? or better w/ full contract service?

    Or am i ignorant..... this is how you do it w/o full Claro service ?
    You can do it with prepaid, or contract. I have no idea about pricing, but looking for an "unlimited data plan" package is best... likely a contract.

    Where does your friend live? We just got Wind Telecom in our house in SD and its turned out well. It's portable internet, 18 month contract, 1600 a month. 2MB. You will get less speed from a Claro phone service, and the cost will likely be the same or more.

  5. #5
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    20,896
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EverythingJeff View Post
    You can do it with prepaid, or contract. I have no idea about pricing, but looking for an "unlimited data plan" package is best... likely a contract.

    Where does your friend live? We just got Wind Telecom in our house in SD and its turned out well. It's portable internet, 18 month contract, 1600 a month. 2MB. You will get less speed from a Claro phone service, and the cost will likely be the same or more.
    We are in Cabrera..... service isn't great... he's trying to get a hard wire to his casa but its a bit far --up a hill, etc.
    Claro isnt anxious to string the wire.

  6. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EverythingJeff View Post
    Finely my area of expertise! (I work for a cellphone company )

    If he enters internet.ideasclaro.com.do into the internet settings of his phone, he will then be able to access the internet via the phone (and presumably attach to PC and surf). He must use a Claro SIM card in the phone.
    JEFF my man! Boy do I need to get a hold of you before my next trip!!! I needed a bottle of Brugal white after dealing with Claro! On my first trip out to DR I brought my Tmobile Samsung Vibrant and struck out with data so no Google Maps....man did paper maps suck lolol

    On my last trip I decided to bring a BB Tour and the 'phone guy' in a little store in Bonao had a hell of time trying to get it working but he finally did. For the record, Android's version of Google Maps is absolutely beyond comparison! Guess I cant kvetch too much, it did work and I got around ok.

    Here is my question for you...Would you recommend connecting the BB Tour via cdma (supposedly for 3G speeds) or stick with a sim chip and sucky speeds? What part of town you in btw?

  7. #7
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    477
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Stick with a SIM card, 3G speeds with Claro aren't bad at all if you are using it with a phone (unlikely the OP wishing to use it as a modem).

    I've connected at least 6 Android phones with Claro without issue and used them all for at least a day.

    Personally, I would never use CDMA, you are basically trapped in that case, and its just not worth it, in my opinion.

    I live behind Multicentro on Churchill (in front of Blue Mall) and work in Naco, so I stay in the center of the city basically.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •