Job Hunting

Lillie

Jun 17, 2011
My family and I moved here 6 months ago and we are financially solvent but i would like to find work so I can really get to know the pulse of the people and the country. I would like to know any suggestions as to what i might do. I was a realtor for 20 years and I have worked in mortgages and finance for 10 years. I have also been the food and beverage director at a major hotel chain......I am not looking for anything major but I would love to get out and about with people. I am extremely outgoing. My husband is an engineer and we love it here and we have put down roots....

I am presently taking spanish lessons but looking definitely for employment that requires english.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

DMV123

Bronze
Mar 31, 2010
Welcome to DR1 Lillie. What part of the country are you living????? It will make a difference on our suggestions.

EverythingJeff

Oct 31, 2010
www.facebook.com
You can get a job doing tech support in a call center without issue.

Call center jobs are 100-125 pesos an hour (from what I've seen). Your job would be entirely English based. (assume 18000 a month)

Obviously you may not view this as a classy job, but you will certainly meet a WIDE variety of people from different backgrounds and lifestyles to connect with.

Sounds like you are more interested in that, then the money and you can do the job blindfolded if you put in a modicum of effort :)

Lillie

Jun 17, 2011
Thanks Jeff, that's exactly what I want to do, meet people......where do I go, who do I contact? Is a resume necessary or a work permit? I am there!!!

EverythingJeff

Oct 31, 2010
www.facebook.com
:)

I work with a company called Stream (Default | Stream Global Services). If you would like, please review the site to see if it's your thing, and you can email me your resume (I will PM you my email) and I will get you in :)

You can submit a resume in the style you are used to and no work permit is required, simply a passport.