Returning to the UK

richardhussey

Feb 14, 2009
I have been working here n the DR for nearly three years now. Since being here i have married a Dominican lady. We have been married for nearly two years. I would like, as would my wife to return to the UK and start a new life there.
I know i can return any time and find employment and a home and my wife could join me later once i have a home and a job. However, we would like to return together.
Dose anyone have any information that can help with this.

Regards Rick

RV429

Bronze
Apr 3, 2011
If you've been there 3 years you shouldn't have to ask this. Go to the web site of the UK embassy and follow the links, you have to go through the process.

pedrochemical

Silver
Aug 22, 2008
If you are married then the process is almost automatic - at least it was for me - going through the process from the D.R. with a Haitian wife. Maybe it is different for a Dominican wife?
A 2 year spouse visa costs around 1600US$ - which sucks.
The whole process took around 3 weeks - no drama.

richardhussey

Feb 14, 2009
I have been on the embassy web site, i have to prove i have a job and a place to live. I do not have this in the UK as i have been here working.

pedrochemical

Silver
Aug 22, 2008
I used my mum as sponsor and guarantor as I didn't have work lined up back in the UK.

Mr Horner - I have never heard that expression before - what does it mean?

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
I think mr Horner is talking about a visitor visa which is a totally different thing. If you want to take your wife to the UK permanently you have to prove that you can house her and support her without recourse to public funds. As long as you can do that it is relatively automatic. They will be bringing in a test to prove they can speak English but atm it does not apply in the DR as there is no suitable test centre.