Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Returning to the UK

I have been working here n the DR for nearly three years now. Since being here i have married a Dominican lady. We have been married for nearly two years. I would like, as would my wife to return to the UK and start a new life there.
    I know i can return any time and find employment and a home and my wife could join me later once i have a home and a job. However, we would like to return together.
    Dose anyone have any information that can help with this.

Regards Rick

Bronze
    Post Thanks / Like

If you've been there 3 years you shouldn't have to ask this. Go to the web site of the UK embassy and follow the links, you have to go through the process.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

If you are married then the process is almost automatic - at least it was for me - going through the process from the D.R. with a Haitian wife. Maybe it is different for a Dominican wife?
    A 2 year spouse visa costs around 1600US$ - which sucks.
    The whole process took around 3 weeks - no drama.

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

I have been on the embassy web site, i have to prove i have a job and a place to live. I do not have this in the UK as i have been here working.

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

where did you return to And did you have employment and a home to move into

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

I used my mum as sponsor and guarantor as I didn't have work lined up back in the UK.

Mr Horner - I have never heard that expression before - what does it mean?

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Also, I was never given the option of buying a 6 month visa.
    Is it cheaper?

Moderator - Ladies Only Forum
    Post Thanks / Like