Tropical Storm Emily

carlosbra

Aug 1, 2011
Hi All,

Im Brazilian and Im quite new in DR. I move to here last March/2011.
This is my first Hurricane season.

I heard that the Tropical Storn or Hurrican Emily is comming to DR. Im very concerned, in Brazil we dont this kind of natural issues. My apartment dont have any protection in the windows, and I suppose that no time to put some protection.

Should I buy a ticket to Brazil and come back after the Tropical Storm ? :) Im really afraid about it,

Please give some tips.

Saludos
Carlos Soares

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
do not bother, really. hurricanes cause some damage but only every now and then we have a bad one.
south and east of the country normally get a beating but north is more quiet, mountains slow things a bit. here in POP all we get is lots of rain and sometimes, seldom, strong wind.
so do not worry, all will be fine :)

Chuck T

Banned
Nov 30, 2010
Carlos, check out the form on here " Hurricane Season 2011 " Mike Fisher does a great job of keeping us up to date on things
( when he is sober) lol

Conchman

Silver
Jul 3, 2002
www.oceanworld.net
Unless you live in a flood prone area, you don't really have to worry about any storms unless you get a direct hit by a category 3 or plus storm. In less powerful storms, when you don't have a direct hit, you usually just stay at home with some supplies and ride out some wind and rain, its not really a big deal.

If you were to get unlucky, a direct hit is usually confined to a 20 to 50 mile eye wall and the chance of that hitting you in the Thousands of miles of Caribbean area, is very slim. In such an unlikely event, you should be able to retreat into a storm shelter before the storms hits, therefore make sure you keep yourself informed as to the location, direction of movement, speed of movement, and wind intensity of the storm. And of course, make sure you know where your local storm shelters are.