Americans living in DR......

Embargo Art

Sep 4, 2011
Hi everyone, I am what you could call a "first time caller, long time listener" to this forum.

I have been to DR now about 6 times and have a unique insight with family living there on the island that I visit with and also (of course) my girlfriend who I am madly in love with. She does not want to leave the island so now I am studying my options.

My family is from DR and Cuba and I have lived in Florida my whole life, mostly good Spanish and I really enjoy the life there after 3 years of visiting. Of course living as a professional in the states is fine too but with my job being in the balance, I may decide to leave if I am asked to take a package from my employer.

For all those Americans living there, is there a big community of Americans in SD or another city? I am curious if anything about that as I am starting down the long road of possible life in the DR........

Cheers.

Art

AJL6767

Apr 14, 2011
Lots of americans in SD, no particular area stands out. We also have football here .

Joe Boots

Jun 16, 2008
I found plenty of Americans in Sosua, Cabarete and Boca Chica. I am sure they are all over beachtowns, visiting. In each place I mentioned I can think of 4 or five I can find day to day that actually live in DR. Cant think of a day anywhere I met more than that. I am sure there are alot more.

Embargo Art

Sep 4, 2011
I saw what could only be described as "American Guys" walking their dogs on the Malecon since you would never see a Dominican guy doing that, at least not yet for me.......that is interesting enough.

I saw lots of Americans in Caberete but that is pretty much to be expected. Santo Domingo is where it's at for me.

Hpluv

Feb 24, 2009
I don't understand why it's important to be around Americans if you move to Sto Domingo.
Is that your way of avoiing Dominicanos?

mckenley

Sep 4, 2011
Does anyone knows the price of sending a child to an english/spanish speaking school in cabarete