Bank Accounts

rover

Aug 19, 2007
Can i open a joint bank account with a Dominican that we both would have equal access too ??

From the little that I understand if you open the account with dollars unless you convert it the balance remains in dollars and is redeemed in dollars upon withdrawal. is that accurate ?

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
There are two different types of accounts - peso accounts and dollar accounts. I have both but they are both savings accounts. I do not know if you can have a checking account in dollars. Anyway. Your dollar account stays in dollars. The money is withdrawn in dollars. The bank can then convert your dollars to pesos (although they do not usually give you a great exchange rate)

As for a joint account with a Dominican, I have no first hand knowledge but would not see any problem with it.

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
Yes you can open a joint account with anyone you want. What mountannie said is correct, and all checking accounts are in Pesos here.

rover

Aug 19, 2007
Ok a savings account is fine with me. So dollars in equals dollars out. Do you still acquire interest on your balance ?

rover

Aug 19, 2007
Thanks everyone for the replies. One final question any banks that do business in both the U.S. and the DR that I could wire/transfer funds and avoid a wire fee ?

jrjrth

Bronze
Mar 24, 2011
~Not on this planet....you are always charged a fee to wire money PERIOD whether its US or Dominican....and more then likely you get hit twice with fees....

rover

Aug 19, 2007
When I've transfered money from Canada it has gone the the Bank of American in Miami in to my BHD account.

Is BHD the name of the bank ?? Do you know what the initials stand for ?

that was probably it.. but Derfish is also probably right about the wire transfer fees.