Dominican Funerals????

Ms.Melody21

Jul 5, 2011
I am new to the country and my "it's complicated" boyfriend's grandmother just passed away last week. I couldn't make it to the burial but his mother says I must go to the 9th day thing(for lack of a better word). I have no idea what to wear. What is custom for this type of thing? His sister says black and/or white.. I feel all my clothes are too flashy though. Does it matter??? I hear it is more like a celebration at this point anyway.. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated

Apr 13, 2011
Have his mother or sister help you pick the most appropriate black outfit (added benefit is that they will most likely appreciate that you want their input on proper selection). Conservative but comfortable would be my recommendation. You are with the grandson, so you will be seen as part of the more immediate family. And, if it is out at a campo, then have comfortable shoes that you do not mind getting muddy if it rains. Since it is the 9th Day, then it probably will eventually turn into more of a celebration as the day goes on. People will be sharing a lot of stories and playing dominoes.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Get yourself a white linen dress or a white cotton dress. Alternately, a black dress, as plain as possible. Little or no jewelry.
It is an important function.

HB

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
You can also wear a skirt or trousers. In my experience there is more white than black but both are fine. Eat before you go so you will have something in your stomach to soak up the rum.

Matilda

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
Right from DR1: Dresses in subdued colors such as black, white, navy blue, grey, or cream will be worn by most women. A black skirt and white shirt with a pearl necklace is also suitable.

SKing

Silver
Nov 22, 2007