Auto Insurance

Dillinjah519

Oct 4, 2011
Whats up? I'm a newbie on here, just wondering how auto-insurance works in the DR ? How much does it cost per month, or per year? I'm looking at something like a 2003 Range Rover. I'm Canadian and my insurance is around 400$ monthly. I really hope it is cheaper in the DR. Thank you.

Bob K

Silver
Aug 16, 2004
We have a 2002 Avalanche and I pay about $36,000RD a year. Do note that if you don't have a DR drivers lic. then your insurance may not pay on claims that you may make.

Bob K

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
For just the basic coverage provided by law (Ley), you will pay about $100 US for a year. Maybe a little less for an older car. Full Insurance would be a ton more.

Bob K

Silver
Aug 16, 2004
That was in pesos and translates to about $940 USD a year. I also pay it off quarterly.

Bob K

Jim or Dana Murphy

Jan 26, 2008
We pay about $150 U.S for $300,000 for annual liability coverage (US numbers) You really cannot get more than that but it is adequate for the DR. and I don't think collision is even available, . you'll see why when you drive there. That is pretty standard.
You will find the cost of cars is quite expensive in the DR. Moca is the place to shop for a car, . 30 minutes east of Santiago. An SUV, with Independent suspension and 6 cyl. or more is minimum. Good luck, . you'll love it!

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: bbcode_quote -->
quote_icon.png
Originally Posted by jorgesarduysousa
definitely cheaper, looking at +-$200.00 month; full coverage

<!-- END TEMPLATE: bbcode_quote -->Just for clarification. Is that pesos or dollars? I cannot imagine anyone paying that amount in dollars any where unless they are a teen ager with 4 DUIs
Backing up, It doesn't say RD here at all. And this works out to about Five and a quarter USD. So once more time, would this be pesos or greenbacks?
Thanks
Der Fish

you see that $ sign. And you are/were a teacher.

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002