Gifts for Locals Bayahibe/beaches

italchica

Oct 23, 2011
Hi, this is my first time travelling to Bayahibe. I have been to Puerto Plata, Punta Cana and Boca Chica....all so very different. Firstly tips for locals in this region. Elsewhere I usually tipped with $$ but for beach workers and grounds keepers I gave $$ or gifts. They never seem to make as much as the other workers. I know tylenol etc is appreciated, but anything else? Any ideas? Also I love to snorkel and saw the available tours, but heard I can snorkel right off shore from my hotel Viva Dominicus. Anyone been there or know how rough seas are in this area normally in December?? I tried to search the blogs but no luck. I am a strong swimmer but don't like to get cut up into shreds by coral.

Thanks

Italchica :p

La Rubia

Bronze
Jan 1, 2010
On the snorkeling

I think it's worth your while to go to either La Catalina or La Isla Saona, in addition to just snorkeling by the hotel. You may be able to arrange something locally, as you have some experience in the DR. I've heard that La Piscina Natural is also worth seeing, yet it can get really crowded at times.

The day I spent at La Catalina sticks out in my memory as a fantastic beach/snorkeling day, while the afternoon I spent on the "Dominican access" beach near the Dominicus just really isn't that memorable.

Dr1 has a link (that you may have seen) that may be helpful as well.

La Romana & Bayahibe - Dominican Republic

As for the tipping, keep doing what's worked for you in the past. You are very generous, I've never even thought of tipping a gardener. I'm sure they are appreciative of your kindess. If by the "beach boys" you mean the guys that work with the sports equipment, I'd try to get something they can use on the beach and is hard to get there.

Enjoy your trip, and may you have many more enjoyable beach vacations.

demi56

Jun 2, 2007
bayahibewebcam.com