Sosua: Advice and recommendations needed and much appreciated

Brand new to DR

Jan 13, 2012
Good day Dear Members of DR1 forum: my name is Jennie, and i am brand new to DR, and was wondering if some of you would be kind to share some local knowledge with me. We will be staying in Sosua Ocean Village in March for 5 weeks, and after reading multiple posts by respectful members of this forum on various subjects, we had a few questions / concerns, and your responses will be very much appreciated.
  1. we will be mostly cooking at home, as i have a small kid. we are mostly fruits / veggies eaters (70% of daily diet), and i read that you have to be very careful with raw food in DR - are there any suggestions, like should i be using bottled water to wash the veggies and fruits, also somebody mentioned iodine - does this work?
  2. also, i understood that we will need transportation to go from SOV to the restaurants and groceries: we are not planning to rent a car, so that is why would you suggest any reliable driver, or you think we can just walk on the road and catch a ride, and approximately how much should the rate be? i would prefer just to use one driver for the 5 weeks, and negotiate the rate with him in advance probably. when i asked SOV how much will the transfer be organized by them, they have quoted $30 one way - and i think it is more than a regular rate...
  3. we also love fish - but i read that people are getting poisoned, are there any good places you could recommend to buy fresh fish, or restaurants that are consistently good?
  4. i was told that SOV has one small beach which is not so great, but also they have access to the neighborhood's beach which is nice and big, but we definitely want to go and explore more, what would be some of the suggestions?
  5. should we bring pesos, or US dollars, or using ATM is ok?
thank you very much all for responses, any info will be very helpful.

RV429

Bronze
Apr 3, 2011
New,