Moving to Bavaro..any tips/advice please!

Jan 27, 2012
So i've been thinking of making the big move within 1.5 yrs to Bavaro. I've started to research just recently , for anyone thats moved there could you please give me any advice on what I need before I arrive in Bavaro.

How long to receive a work visa? and How do I go about to apply for one?
What is typical rent for 1/2 bedroom apartment in the area?
I'll have a room mate with me so a shared 2 bedroom is fine.
How difficult is it to find a job once in Bavaro? and around how much should we bring as "security" funds just in case we dont find work right away?

I understand this will definitely be a big lifestyle change and I'll take a pay cut. (right now i work in the mutual funds industry) But i'm willing to do all of this for the life experience down south. I figured I might as well do this while I'm young and later on in life if things don't work out I can say I tried it out.

Givadogahome

Silver
Sep 27, 2011
Moving to Bavaro..any tips/advice please!

Yes, don't move to Bavaro:p

1/2 bedroomed apartments start around 350US p/m and upwards to as much as you want to pay. A nice furnished place with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, security and a walk from the beach and communal pool will set you back 500US and up over. With lecy, cable, internet you want to have aside around 650+/- PM.
Deposit will be 2+1 in most cases.

If you speak fluent +/- Spanish you can find a job in a restaurant pretty easily. The pay is typically 6000 pesos per month + tips.

Sorry, I know nothing about work visas.

RV429

Bronze
Apr 3, 2011
The pay cut you will get "if" you find a job will be like making in a month what you used to make in 1/2 day. Unemployment is high and jobs pay diddly. Imagine trying to live on $150-200 USD per month.

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002
Romance of working in a caribbean paradise ?