larimar business

dddavid

Aug 3, 2011
Hi
I'm thinking about start selling larimar jewelry on line. Anyone here have experiences in this kind of business?
Especially about laws, shipping costs and possibility of profits and want to share thoughts?
Also i'm looking for some people that lives in the barahona/bahoruco that can help me with suppliers.
I'm a web designer and have a friend that worked in the states with jewelry for many years and have contacts of stores to begin.
Also any opinion is really appreciated...

May 29, 2006
I did larimar for a while and I don't think there is any money in the low-end jewelry. There was a run on larimar about 10 years ago which flooded the US and European markets, but it didn't catch on as much as was expected. At the same time the costs for getting larimar out of the ground went up in the DR. There have been times when it's been cheaper to buy larimar in Europe than in the DR. The tourist market has dramatically lowered the standards for larimar in the DR and the workmanship is often very poor.

Larimar is a difficult stone to work with since the quality varies so much. If you do an Ebay search for AAA larimar, you will get tourist grade stones in your search. It also doesn't photograph well for the bettter stones since the chatoyancy is lost.

Where I did do well with larimar was selling finished high grade cabs. But you have to normally look at 100 stones to find one that is worth more than $5/gram and you'll be lucky to get something over 10 grams. Someone who will want to pay $5/gram will want to actually see the stone and not just an online photo.

I also tried slabs to be cut into stones. But it's a crap shoot for someone cutting because larimar is prone to breaking and you can find flaws that are not apparent in the slabs.