Going to college in Dominican Republic?

coconutrae

Jan 9, 2012
Hello everyone!

I had a question about going to college in Dominican Republic. I am currently a freshman in college - I live in the US. I want to be a high school spanish teacher. My spanish is not yet fluent - but it is getting there. I am really considering going to Dominican Republic to finish school. I would love to immerse myself in the culture and i feel that it would only add to my experience of learning spanish. Can anyone give me options or advice? What are the colleges that would be best? Is fluency in spanish required in all the universities?

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago
I am in a masters program at PUCMM here in Santiago and I can honestly say it is no doubt the most pleasurable experience I have ever had at school. Granted I'm much older than the other students (I'm almost 47) and am no doubt more mature but still I feel very well received from the students and teachers although my Spanish is not perfect to say the least. Dr. Lynne Guittar is a friend of mine and runs the local program. Here are some links for you:

Contact CIEE Study Abroad | CIEE Study Abroad Contact Information
Study Abroad with CIEE in Santiago, Dominican Republic | liberal arts

Good luck

jabuti

Mar 13, 2011
Hello everyone!

I had a question about going to college in Dominican Republic. I am currently a freshman in college - I live in the US. I want to be a high school spanish teacher. My spanish is not yet fluent - but it is getting there. I am really considering going to Dominican Republic to finish school. I would love to immerse myself in the culture and i feel that it would only add to my experience of learning spanish. Can anyone give me options or advice? What are the colleges that would be best? Is fluency in spanish required in all the universities?