Film addict & newbie

popboyd

Mar 23, 2012
Does anyone know of any English-language film clubs or theatres in the area? I am an engineer new to the area and will be -- for work purposes -- here a number of months. I am based in Puerto Plata area. Not into the bar scene -- my wife and family are back in Canada -- but would like to see a good film, discuss films with others, have a bit of social activity. My Spanish is pretty much nonexistent. Any suggestions for activities for people in the area other than a day at the beach? Are there any English language social clubs? Sports teams?

london777

Bronze
Dec 22, 2005
The Meeting Place is your best option.

Rocky's Bar in Sosua also has weekly showings of English language films. I know you are not into the bar scene but you could always sip a fruit juice (like I do). The manager there (Rick) is Canadian and very hospitable.

I note you use the words "film" as we do in the UK, rather than "movie" as in the US. Is "film" normal Canadian usage?

Finally, if you have a DVD player I would be happy to exchange DVDs with you. I live in Pto Pta.

danmonte

Jan 27, 2012
Yes, The Meeting Place is a good place to check out. I know this Sunday (March 25) there is the "My Week with Marilyn" movie at 3 pm there. I saw the movie in Florida. Certainly brought back memories of the magic of Marilyn. She was special. After seeing it I found the DVD of Some Like it Hot movie with Marilyn Monroe. Check with The Meeting Place for other movie showings. The venue is quite good -- like a mini-theatre with airconditioning (and free popcorn).

Drro

Bronze
Mar 22, 2006
Rocky's has movies on Wednesdays and Saturdays at 7:30 pm - no charge, but most people either eat or drink or both as they watch. Movies are in English with Spanish (usually) subtitles; every now and again the subtitles are French. An example: Tower Heist was last week as was Midnight in Paris. And great people, great comraderie.

popboyd

Mar 23, 2012