Improvisation in the DR1 News?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This was published today, March 27, 2012:

DR1 News said:
Hato Mayor is first 24-hour electricity province

Santo Domingo has 24-hour electricity circuits where blackouts are reduced to a minimum. The Public Electricity Corporation (CDEEE) and its EdeEste power distribution company are now announcing the start of 24-hour circuits nationwide.

Hato Mayor in the east has become the first province outside of Santo Domingo to have a 24-hour circuit.

President Leonel Fernandez was present to make the announcement. "We are very proud to celebrate the announcement by the executive vice president of the CDEEE that Hato Mayor has become the first province with a 24-hour electricity circuit," said the President.

Celso Marranzini, executive vice president of the CDEEE, and EdeEste general manager Francisco Leiva Landabur were also in Hato Mayor for the announcement.

Anyone that didn't know what is going on in the electricity sector would assume, based on the note published in the DR1 News, that Hato Mayor is the first place outside Santo Domingo with 24 hour circuits.

In reality, there are 24 hour circuits (CDEEE circuits) in most provinces and most of them have existed for years!

The only difference is that Hato Mayor is now the first province to have 100% of its circuits on the 24 hour plan. Santo Domingo province is not 100% on the 24 hour plan and neither is 100% of the National District! That's why Hato Mayor is the first, not outside Santo Domingo, but simply the first province to be fully 24 hours.

Big difference between what is actually happening and what was published in the DR1 News.

To make matters more interesting, I have yet to see a news article in the local media that could gives the impression that is apparent in the DR1 News piece.

Now we have to wonder how often this happens... :ermm:

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004