los ladrones de Edenorte... advice please

belgiank

Silver
Jun 13, 2009
In January I got a "normal" bill of 6,000 rds, which I paid.

In January we also discovered an underground cable had broken. We had it replaced, and the electrician told us this should also save us consumption. As we repainted the pool in February (so did not use the pumps and filter) I was convinced I would get a lower bill.

To my surprise I got a bill of 10,000 rds. When I studied the bill, it showed they had first deducted the 6,000 rds I had paid for January, and replaced this with an estimated usage of 718 kwh for January, and the same for February.

This being right above the magic 700kw, I of course have to pay the 11 rds/kw.

I went to the Edenorte office of Cabarete, where they said they would investigate and they send a technician out. He said the meter was working perfectly.

The Sosua office now claims the meter was not working correctly during the 2 previous months, and that they therefore made an estimate.

The owner of the house is planning on renewing all wiring next month, in order to decrease consumption. I suppose they are just going to blame it on the meter again.

Is there anything I can do about this? I thought I had read about a new government-office who takes care of complaints in the energy-sector.

Thanks,

BelgianK

CaptnGlenn

Silver
Mar 29, 2010
If I'm not mistaken, I don't think renewing wiring will do much to reduce consumption. If the juice is being used and flowing... it's being consumed by SOMETHING, (appliance / lights / whatever) ... if the wire is just sitting there, it's not consuming electricity... the wire doesn't consume it. If the wire is broken, no flow either... (need a complete circuit.) There might be some minuscule difference due to wire gauge and conductivity... but not enough to notice.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004