Dominican Elections 2012

Who do you think will win the elections in May?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The elections are roughly a month from now.

How accurate is the DR1 community in gauging political tendencies in the Dominican Republic?

There's only one way to find out.

The poll is straight forward. If you feel like giving an explanation for why you think that person will win, go ahead and post away.

This poll doesn't asks would you vote for, but rather who you think will win.

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
My brother-in-law says the polls & press say Danilo, but the 'street' says Hippo. He has a restaurant with 100% Dominican clientele, so he talks to a lot of people.

Time will tell

caribmike

Gold
Jul 9, 2009
My brother-in-law says the polls & press say Danilo, but the 'street' says Hippo. He has a restaurant with 100% Dominican clientele, so he talks to a lot of people.

Time will tell

Yeah, the "street" of course, all these without education. Most of them do not see the Hipolito appearances on TV etc. and are easily bought with some stuff.

Hopefully Danilo wins. My wife's Dominican family (all former "blancos") will all vote for "morado". Some (and I hope many more) realize what uncertainty and danger Hipolito represents.

Givadogahome

Silver
Sep 27, 2011
There's some crazy cash being pumped into this, Eastside parties, free gas, Brugal, and Mil pesos goes a long way to buying peoples affection, or at least vote. I would love to know just how much is being poured into the streets, it must be a huge amount of cash for what is covered.

RonS

Bronze
Oct 18, 2004