Delivery from commercial website

Rep Dom

Bronze
Dec 27, 2011
Hi, how does it go when you buy something from a commercial website (dominican and foreign)
How about the delivery, custom duties, delays... :)
:)

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Hi, how does it go when you buy something from a commercial website (dominican and foreign)
How about the delivery, custom duties, delays... :)
:)

It matters a great deal what the article is, how much it weighs, its price and also what company you use to bring in the item. For example, anything that is under $200 US in value is supposed to enter duty free.

However, let's say you buy a 32inch TV that is $199.99 US from TigerDirect, it may have an arbitrary price assigned to it at customs and you may pay a hefty duty.

if you provide more information on what you want to purchase, better answers can be provided. All the above is about bringing something into the country from outside. I have no experience ordering something from within the DR, but there would be no duty involved if you did.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
What I do, is ship to the mudanza (mine is Awilda) and they ship it tax/duty free.

My lawn mower came from Lowe's that way - $400 or so mower arrived at my door after frre shipping from Lowe's

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
It was $110 in shipping.

The mudanza works magic in a few ways:
e.g. mine charges $100 more to ship a new 'fridge vs shipping a used one
I wonder where that $100 goes ??

I solved that problem bybuying at Sears Scratch and Dent.
Looked like used....The driver even commented that b/c of the dents, customs passed it as used.

I ship 2 - 3 times a year... huge boxes last time - 8'x4'x4' full of everything
Othertimes, just a box or two. but always Mott's Clamato juice inside !!

bri777

Bronze
Sep 11, 2010
worst case scenerio ?

I bought a 32 inch flat at newegg for 188$ on black friday,reg 399 ,I opened an account with a fla. shipper transexpress
piece of cake,so far so good