Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Help needed - gift shops

I am having trouble locating people in charge of gift shops here in Dominican Republic. Whenever I walk up to a shop assistant, I always get the same answer - "The owner is not here and I don't know when he is coming and I don't have the phone number"

It seems like all the stores have the same items for sale and they don't need anything new.

The thing is, I am a videographer and wanted to distribute my DVDs about the most beautiful sights of DR. I don't have time to open a new store being really busy with my main work.

I am not at all a sales guy and it is especially hard for me to get accustomed to the local ways of running a business. I would really appreciate your advise, I am looking for those gift shop owners or distributors who would be interested in this film.
    Thanks in advance
    Dmitry

You can watch the film trailer on youtube
    Dominican Republic Beaches in relaxing HD film - YouTube

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

Well, trying similar things before (not w/ DVD's or such) I would say there is not much possibility that they buy it from you (not b/c it is a film but in general). Maybe on commission, not sure...

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

It's much easier with stores run by expats, they are interested and I found two who now sell these DVDs. But most of the shops are run by Dominicans who are never there. Commission based deals are out of the question here in DR ...

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

How about getting a Dominican (assuming you're not) to work as a sales agent for you? He/she will probably be much better able to get to talk to whoever does the buying and you could pay them a commission on whatever they sell. If they have any success they will also be more willing to spend the time on it that you can't.

Bronze
    Post Thanks / Like