Help needed - gift shops

miozio

May 23, 2009
I am having trouble locating people in charge of gift shops here in Dominican Republic. Whenever I walk up to a shop assistant, I always get the same answer - "The owner is not here and I don't know when he is coming and I don't have the phone number"

It seems like all the stores have the same items for sale and they don't need anything new.

The thing is, I am a videographer and wanted to distribute my DVDs about the most beautiful sights of DR. I don't have time to open a new store being really busy with my main work.

I am not at all a sales guy and it is especially hard for me to get accustomed to the local ways of running a business. I would really appreciate your advise, I am looking for those gift shop owners or distributors who would be interested in this film.
Thanks in advance
Dmitry

You can watch the film trailer on youtube
Dominican Republic Beaches in relaxing HD film - YouTube

caribmike

Gold
Jul 9, 2009
Well, trying similar things before (not w/ DVD's or such) I would say there is not much possibility that they buy it from you (not b/c it is a film but in general). Maybe on commission, not sure...

miozio

May 23, 2009
It's much easier with stores run by expats, they are interested and I found two who now sell these DVDs. But most of the shops are run by Dominicans who are never there. Commission based deals are out of the question here in DR ... :disappoin

drstock

Silver
Oct 29, 2010
Cabarete
How about getting a Dominican (assuming you're not) to work as a sales agent for you? He/she will probably be much better able to get to talk to whoever does the buying and you could pay them a commission on whatever they sell. If they have any success they will also be more willing to spend the time on it that you can't.

Jumbo

Bronze
Jul 8, 2005