New Expat in DR and Loving It!

KJS73

Feb 25, 2011
I've been spending lots of time in DR the past year. This message board has inspired me and at times scared me. I appreciate all the info.

A month ago I took the plunge and rented an apartment for 6 months. Immediately I went on a job search with the intention of teaching English to adults. To my surprise I went for an interview at a colegio and was hired on the spot. I started working that day. The best part is that it was for a job I thought I didn't want, teaching 7th graders. The salary, benefits and vacation time were hard to resist. Plus it seemed like I was in the right place at the right time. I've been working a few weeks now and as frustrating as it can be, enjoy teaching 7th graders, especially since the subject is English Literature which I majored in. I find it ironic that I found a job here easier than in the USA.

One thing that I like about DR is that there seems to be less red tape. I know that can be bad in some cases, but I do like the ease in which you can find an apt, without all the bs you have to go through in NY. I feel very blessed. My obsession with DR has paid off. Of course I'm under know delusions that life will be perfect. I'm not looking for perfect. I like a little grit. I even like taking the caro publico for 25 pesos to work.

Now I must see a doctor to get a medical exam. I also need a police report. Since I have signed a year contract I suppose I should apply for residency or is there a work visa? It seems I might need to take a trip back to the states. The school didn't seem to know much about the process. All I know is that I need the medical exam and police report. And good doctors in SD that one could recommend? Can I get a police report here from NY?

Thanks for any feedback!

Auryn

Apr 22, 2012