Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Cherry Popped! Stopped By Policia

Ok I'be read many stories here of people being stopped by police for no reason here in DR. For some reason I never really thought about it happening to me.

My friend and I had just finished seeing a really scary movie called SINISTER at Caribbean Cinemas Cinema Centro on the Malecon. Realizing I needed money for taxi, we went to a nearby ATM. As we walked toward the taxi, two officers on a motorcycle stopped us. We both stayed really calm. They wanted to search everything in my pockets. It seemed they were looking for drugs. Luckily I was able to speak with them in Spanish and explain that I work as a teacher here and I'm not a tourist here looking for debauchery. I was sure that eventually is have to give them the money I just withdrew from Banco Popular. They seemed perplexed that I had a Banco Popular ATM card and kept checking my name with my NY state ID. My friend showed them his ticket stub that we were just at the movies. Finally they let us go and I didn't need to give them money.

The experience was quite unnerving. My nerves were already shot from the scary movie we saw (usually horror movies don't scare me. This one did!) so I felt really tense. At the same time I am relieved that nothing bad happened besides feeling violated. During the experience I kept thinking what if they keep my wallet. What if they put me in jail overnight for no reason. I've heard stories of that happening. Anyway I feel my cherry was popped as it seems this was inevitable experience to have in DR. Thank God I am not interested in buying drugs!

2. Likes waytogo, Noballs liked this post
    Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like

i was stopped by the police back home once, for being drunk and disorderly taken to the station and then back home (i was under age). kinda fun, since i was sloshed out of my mind, but generally i believe all encounters with the police are unnerving.