Foreigners in the DR (According to the Census 2010)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Well, two years (going towards three) after the Census was completed in 2010, data on foreigners has finally been released. HOY newspaper claims that the data is available at the National Statistics website, but I searched and didn't see anything. :rolleyes: Maybe they haven't uploaded all the info yet, I hope!

Anyway, here are some of the findings published in HOY:

• 4.2% of the national population was born outside the DR. That's 395,791 people.
  • 79% of foreigners were born in Haiti (311,969). That's 3.3% of the national population.

What this means is that expats make up less than 1% of the population. This should open a few eyes considering the exaggerated numbers and percentages people were throwing around in the thread that concerned with the new migration rules. Some even believed the DR actually depends on expats, which is understandable for anyone living in expats enclaves to think like that, but it should had been clear that there's more to the country than those places.

The provinces with the largest influx of foreign migrants were Independencia (aka Jiman?; 14.8%), Montecristi (12.1%), and Pedernales (12%). Considering all of them are on the border, we can all guess from where the foreigners are from. The three provinces with the least amount of foreigners were San Crist?bal (1.5%), Monse?or Nouel (aka Bonao; 1.6%), and Hermanas Mirabal (aka Salcedo; 1.6%).

In terms of Haitian migrants, the provinces with the highest percentages were Independencia (aka Jiman?; 14.2%), Montecristi (11.5%), Pedernales (11.4%), Valverde (aka Mao; 9.7%), and El?as Pi?a (9.4%). The provinces with the least presence of Haitians were Monse?or Nouel (aka Bonao; 1.1%), San Crist?bal (1.2%), and Hermanas Mirabal (aka Salcedo; 1.2%).