why do the roads go bad so fast

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006
The Dominican Republic (Costa Rica also) have roads full of holes. I know it rains alot in the DR but can heavy rains be responsible for all the pot holes and how quickly the holes return when they are patched?
I wonder if over weight trucks have anything to do with it. I have never seen over loaded trucks anything like what runs around here. I have seen them with rear axles bent and the tires wobbling from side to side. In the US the police watch the trucks closely and many have commercial truck scales in their trunks. I have seen them weighing trucks on the side of the road for over-weight. I have no knowledge of road paving and was just wondering. The price we pay in car repairs and accidents in the DR is high. Can it be that enforcement of truck weight restrictions would help. I know you have all seen those semi tractor trailers loaded sky high with sacks of I dont know what and a few Haitian laborers riding on top of the load. Always feel sorry for them in the rain.
I know one of you drunners is a road paving expert.

Dec 26, 2011
You're referring to what they call patanas. Mostly for sugarcane transport.

Corners are cut in the road construction. Like corners are cut everywhere. If specs call for a certain depth of gravel and stone for proper bedding of the road surface and the inspectors or the inspectors' bosses can be "persuaded" to look the other way when skimping occurs, the contractor can save big time.

May 29, 2006
Could be a lot worse. When you get out into the non-paved areas, you're going to get "washboard" roads which are brutal on your car(and your back). Roads need proper prep work and drainage to last and it's not cheap to do it right. Many Dominican roads also have water/sewer lines that run along side of them and leaks can cause sinkholes and subsidence along the edges.