Today i happily turn in my dr residency!!!!

eastcoastmike

Jul 18, 2004
Once again these Dominicans just push one too far until us foreigners simply say Ill keep my money in my own pocket.Now you get nothing from me.After 12 years as a DR resident I go to renew today.Never a pleasant process.I walk into the usual confusion,lack of order,no fans,cups on top of the water cooler etc.BUT in past years about $100 bucks and 3 hours later I was outta there.But today....OH NO!!!!!Immigration basically has everyone starting the process from day 1.Today I was informed that one must take a medical,cost 4500 pesos,100 pesos for the form to fill out,400 pesos for every month one is late renewing ones residency,VIP one day service 1000 pesos,4 year renewal 8000 pesos.But it gets better.One also has to go to the National Police to get a good conduct letters at what price I dont know,nothing is free).Then one must get a letter of solvency notarized,again, at what cost.Next is 3 frontal,3 profile pics,3 copies of your cedula ,residency,passport.
So lets do the math,upwards of 15,000 pesos or more depending on what these documents(letters) and pictures cost.Remember YOU are the one that needs to run around getting the papers in order.So include gas $ now maybe pushing 16,000 pesos to renew.Well thats 400 bucks US.This passed the abuse limit for me.I dont own a business here.Ill give the shotgun to the father in law(and avoid another tax by the way).For $400 dollars and days of aggravation that lie ahead you,the Dominican government, can keep my residency card and the zero dollar amount that goes with it.For the same $400 dollars I could enter the country 40 times in the next 4 years.One reaches a point where simple math sets in and the day comes to tell those setting these prices "go phuck yourself"! Ill happily spend that 400 bucks on myself!

jonytuga

Oct 16, 2012