What are legal limits for bringing in our luggage?

southwardbound2

Jun 5, 2008
Couldn't find with a search; sorry if redundant question.

We like some liquors not sold here. But don't want to donate any to customs by bringing too much!

And would like to bring a computer monitor we already own, but it needs to be in a box as its 27 inches. It's not a TV, just a monitor. Any way to figure out what we could be charged if they notice it?

Is there a list of what's allowed and what's going to cause a fee and/or confiscation?

bizzyboneizo

Aug 31, 2010
every body was saying the price of the item new. i just stuffed a 19 inch tv in my bag 5 mins ago and hope i can make it there with out them bothering me im going to act like its my first time there

southwardbound2

Jun 5, 2008
Feb 7, 2007
I brought in 6 litters of booze, but was not searched. I would like to know as well what is the allowed limit.

Before traveling back to the DR form Europe, I also move the contents of the glass liquor bottle into a plastic bottle, shrink wrap it over several times and seal with clear tape all over, then back in the DR move the contents again into an empty glass bottle of the same liquor. Saves on weight and greatly reduces the risk of breaking while in transit. Yes this approach required bringing in glass bottles first time.

Even if you do not have original same-liquor bottles sitting at home in the DR, you can just use another glass bottle, Rum, etc. even from Coca Cola, if you are not so picky about where you drink your liquor from, or if the liquor is not meant as a gift or for hosting a party.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006