sailing from key west

cooktires

Jan 21, 2013
comin your way in febuary 2013
Hi folks,
I'm coming down in febuary by sail boat. I really hope to be able to stay. I'm a marine machanic by trade also air conditioning and refrigeration both marine and residential / commercial. I spent 20 years in the recycling business and hope there is some emerging opportunities there as well. i sent a message to keath R and never got a reply is he still around?
thanks
george

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
IF you are implying that you are going to sail down here and make a living as a marine mechanic.. I would advise you to have jobs lined up at the yacht club in La Romana or Boca Chica before you come. There are not enough yachts on the north coast to need you.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
I can never recommend to anyone that needs gainful employment to come here and try to make a living. The salaries are just too low, in general, compared to back home. Your situation is a bit different since you can sail away at any point in time. Best of luck . Did you want to be on the north coast? The only location is Luperon and that is not doing well these days.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
friends who used to be in the charter business investigated the laws here and every time you leave the dock you must clear customs... There is a new marina in Samana at the name of the hotel which escapes me

but in the end, i think that the docking fees will cost you more than you could earn.

there are places to anchor out in Samana bay

but the laws both on the fact that you have to emplou 80% Dominicans and the fact that there is already a Dominican charter catamaran....

best shoot for the US Virgins or Puerto Rico where you can work with no problem.. assuming your vessel will pass the test of an American built hull as in the Jones act.. if you are legal to charter in the States, then you will be legall in Puerto Rico and the Virgins