General Questions!

marliejaneca

Bronze
Oct 7, 2003
Hi everyone, it has been a long time!

I am travelling to Punta Cana in March with my 18 year old daughter (last mom-daughter trip before University), and since I haven't been back to the DR for so many years, and even longer since I lived there, I need a few general questions answered, if possible.

Totally against my nature, but we are staying at an all-inclusive resort, so my question is how much do things cost off the resort. I am not looking for exact amounts, just ball-park figures so I know how much I should be bringing with me. As I work in a bank, and get staff rate, after researching the exchange rates, I am better off to exchange some money for pesos right at my bank, then I don't have to worry about bringing too much cash or using my debit card too often.

So here goes:

Beer, Pop, - when I left the DR a Presidente Grande cost 15 pesos! What is the cost today?

Taxi ride, say from Bavaro Beach to Steve's Bar ...must check out this place out for fun! Or moto-concho?

Lunch out for two - Sandwich, Fried chicken...something similar to that?

Dinner out for two - maybe a nice seafood dinner or steak ...just to get away from the resort food?

I am going to pre-pay for the two excursions that she would like to take, so I am not worried about that type of activity, but still haven't decided on which tour company... Amstar or Carribean Dream as one is more expensive but not completely clear on why? I am wondering though about additional costs at the hotel for spa treatments, and water activities not included in our package, as I can't seem to find any info on that? Does anyone know generally speaking how much these types of activities run?

I know these questions may sound silly, but I have absolutely no idea what things cost down there now, and I don't want to always be worrying about running to the bank to exchange more money or having too many pesos upon return only to sell back and lose money!

Thanks!