Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Cell Phone Use in DR

    I will be in the DR for a month and would like to get a pay as you play Cell phone. We were going to bring an old Cell phone thats not being used now with us, will it be possible to get this phone booted up, and about how much will this cost? Do we have to do anything to this phone/sim card before we leave Canada?

  2. #2
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,881
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    If it is Quad Band GSM it will work with a Sim card here. Sim card is about 100 pesos.

  3. #3
    Silver
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2,953
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You need to make sure the phone is unlocked. If it isn't you need to pay someone to do that (you can have it done in DR for about US$10).

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKY View Post
    If it is Quad Band GSM it will work with a Sim card here.
    Is there an easy way to know if my phone is or isn't?

  5. #5
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    11,214
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Look at the phone/system properties, it will say the frequency.
    Do you know the model number and carrier?
    Claro GSM 850/1900 MHz
    Orange GSM 900/1800/1900

  6. #6
    Silver
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2,953
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tamborista View Post
    Look at the phone/system properties, it will say the frequency.
    Do you know the model number and carrier?
    Claro GSM 850/1900 MHz
    Orange GSM 900/1800/1900

    Yes! this is important if you want to use 3G data!!

  7. #7
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tamborista View Post
    Look at the phone/system properties, it will say the frequency.
    Do you know the model number and carrier?
    Claro GSM 850/1900 MHz
    Orange GSM 900/1800/1900
    I have a Samsung SCH-R720 with Metro PCS and a Galaxy III that was used with Sprint. I could also get a phone that was used previously with T-Mobile, I don't know the model for that one.

    Edit: Actually the Sprint phone is a Galaxy SII, Model SPH-D710
    Last edited by Gitana-; 02-20-2013 at 03:00 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The phone we have is a LG, it was used 2 years ago with Telus, and has a 3g sticker on it and a sim card. Not sure of the model

  9. #9
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,881
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Just bring whatever phone you have and see if it will take a Sim card or not. If not you can either unlock it or just buy a cheap cell phone with a Sim card in it for about $15 or less.

  10. Likes PeterInBrat liked this post
  11. #10
    Gold
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9,821
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    And there is no lack of "used" phones in the DR. Many of them used to belong to tourists!

    Best to stay cheap on phones since they are so easy to lose. I prefer to keep in touch by email myself.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •