Overpriced housing or about right?

nyc dad

Bronze
Jul 28, 2011
I 've noticed that most apartment in the "better" neighborhoods are about $1000 USD per square meter.Is that a fair market value or everyone it's just jumping on the bandwagon regardless of what the neighborhood or condominium has to offer,and asking what they think it should cost? Also,some apartments are in the $4.000.000 pesos range,I'm not a financial expert but it seems that it might be better to finance since paying a lil over $1000 USD will pay for that condo in about 4 years.What you guys on the ground think?

NotLurking

Bronze
Jul 21, 2003
Sto Dgo Este
I 've noticed that most apartment in the "better" neighborhoods are about $1000 USD per square meter.Is that a fair market value or everyone it's just jumping on the bandwagon regardless of what the neighborhood or condominium has to offer,and asking what they think it should cost? Also,some apartments are in the $4.000.000 pesos range,I'm not a financial expert but it seems that it might be better to finance since paying a lil over $1000 USD will pay for that condo in about 4 years.What you guys on the ground think?

That sounds about right. Current constructions prices are around US$500-600 m2 for medium to good quality finishes. Land in the better neighborhoods start from US$400 and goes up rapidly from there. Financing is not such a great idea, current mortgage rate is about 22% ARM. For a typical 20% down 80% finance on a US$100,000 home you're looking at ~US$1600 for 15 years plus insurance premium. You're better off financing in you home country through some creative financing, buying the property outright or better yet, rent as CC suggested.

NotLurking

Castle

Silver
Sep 1, 2012